The sky may be falling…but life goes on

9 Oct

It’s hard to ignore the cries that the sky is falling. The Dow has taken its largest falls since the Great Depression. People are talking around the water cooler. People are talking at home. Some businesses are already feeling the pinch (my local Gymboree Music and Play Place sent an email announcing they have closed due to low enrollment) and some businesses are wondering when they will close — not if they will.

But meanwhile I was down at one of my local shopping centers at lunch today, grabbing food and running into Old Navy to pick up some sweat pants for my 4 year old. The parking lot at the mall was PACKED. My husband and I are trying to get into dinner at Paley’s a very good, well-known restaurant in Portland that is expensive (its my birthday dinner) and can’t seem to get a reservation. I went out to lunch yesterday with some friends from the office, and the lunch place (a nice, sit-down Thai place) was packed. What gives?

If I truly knew I would probably be very wealthy, having invested in the right things at the right times. I am not sure when, or if, the other shoe is going to drop. As CEO of a 40+ person company it is worrisome. But at the same time I feel like we can’t affect the macro economic reality, and we need to keep our nose to the grindstone and keep plugging away at the business that we know how to do. We need to keep focused, keep our eye on the ball, and churn out the sales that will keep us growing and healthy. As if our lives depended on it. Because they do.

3 Responses to “The sky may be falling…but life goes on”

  1. Robin October 10, 2008 at 10:05 am #

    I love your blog, I loved this post. But I would like to assure you that in October and November of 1929, and into 1930, the restaurants were still packed, speakeasies were still flowing with gin, women were buying fur coats, Duesenbergs were still flying up and down Fifth Avenue, and all was right with the world.

    The current phantasmagoria is going to take a while to suss out.

    I appreciate the optimism, ‘though. Just sayin’.

  2. sabyberry October 10, 2008 at 10:12 am #

    Hi Robin-
    Thanks for your comment. I fortunate or unfortunate my optimism is just part of who I am. So for the time being I will continue to believe that we can come out of this better than the USA did during the Great Depression. Now ask my husband… and he will tell you the sky has already fallen!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Planning, Startups, Stories - October 10, 2008

    4 or 5 Truths About the Sky Falling…

    I’ve been working on other posts, but then I saw today’s paper, and the stock market drop. You want good reading? How about 60% of Americans say depression likely (A CNN poll). Or the much more reassuring Then and Now….

Leave a comment