Set the bar low… really low

3 Oct

I can’t help it. Usually I stay away from politics on my blog as I respect that people have different opinions. But I just can’t sit on my hand any longer. The New York Times wrote a recap analyzing the debate, published this morning:

Gov. Sarah Palin made it through the vice-presidential debate on Thursday without doing any obvious damage to the Republican presidential ticket. By surviving her encounter with Senator Joseph R. Biden Jr. and quelling some of the talk about her basic qualifications for high office, she may even have done Senator John McCain a bit of good, freeing him to focus on the other troubles shadowing his campaign.

Really? That is where we set the bar for the VICE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES? All Palin had to do was SURVIVE? That’s all this country expects of the person second in command? I just can’t contain my shock, disappointment, and feelings of betrayal I have towards my fellow Americans. I truly feel embarrassed to be an American. Where is our pride? Where is our drive to be the best? All we care about is whether this is a “normal” person we want to drink beers with? Or go shopping with?

On the upside, it is nice to see that some people are admitting that Palin just doesn’t hit the mark:

Conservative columnist Kathleen Parker was a Palin supporter who gave up after seeing her on TV. “I watch her interviews with the held breath of an anxious parent,” she wrote this week, “my finger poised over the mute button in case it gets too painful. Unfortunately, it often does. My cringe reflex is exhausted.”

There is a part of me that is also sad about Sara Palin. I am sure that she is a motivated, hard working, and driven woman. The fact that she has had 5 children and has still managed to be the governor of Alaska speaks mountains of her character. Yes, Alaska has a tiny population, and a budget surplus. But still. I only run a 45-person company and only have 2 kids, and I feel like my experience is tested to its limits. I feel like the Republicans have taken a woman who could have gone further, who could have always been thought of as successful, and ruined her. They have made her the joke of America. They have managed to hang her out to dry. Who do we think the Republicans will blame if they don’t win the election in November? She is their perfect scapegoat.

Meanwhile, she is dealing with a ton of very difficult personal issues. And now they have to be public. I wanted to cry last night when one of her daughters came on stage with her beautiful little baby boy. How hard it must be for the whole family to participate in raising a child with special needs. You could see in her body posture as she held that baby boy how much she loves him, and is uncomfortable having him up there on that stage under all those lights with all those people. And not uncomfortable because she wants to hide him, no, uncomfortable because she is nervous about the baby’s well being. As a mother I could read that in her body language, in the way she held that little baby. And it made me want to cry for her and for her baby boy. In a time when she must be struggling to do everything in her power to help that baby, she has to instead field questions, and interviews, and finish applying for a job for which we know, and she knows, she is not even close to being qualified.

How hard it must also be to help her daughter deal with a pregnancy at age 17. Palin will have a grandchild not much younger than her own youngest child. Her 17-year-old daughter is forced to grow up quickly (and yes I know – it was her daughter’s own fault, and probably her own dumb fault) and raise a child. But right now her daughter can’t really decide what she thinks is best for herself. And Palin can’t really help her daughter decide what is best for her. She has to do what is best for John McCain. How sad is that?

Palin and now her whole family have been thrust into the spotlight in a way that I feel is just not fair. How could she really turn down the offer to be vice president? But at the same time I know she isn’t qualified. I don’t want a man or a woman in the White House helping to run our country. I want the best qualified PERSON in the White House helping to run our country.

Its funny but, as I write this, I feel like I have more sympathy for Palin than I even realized. Don’t get me wrong. I think she is a terrible choice for McCain, and has only sealed his fate with failure in November. In a way I am glad because I support Obama and Biden. But at the same time I feel like she has been thrust into an arena that she didn’t really choose, and that she won’t get out of unscathed.

2 Responses to “Set the bar low… really low”

  1. Proud American October 3, 2008 at 8:25 pm #

    Low? Really low? You’re joking, right?

    I don’t know what news channels you’re watching, but I have watched several Republican and Democrat commentators praise her performance at last nights debate. What would make you feel so sorry for her? Did you really watch it? Are we speaking of the same debate?

    OK, we all saw the “Gotcha” interviews with (I am looking down my nose) ABC’s Charlie Gibson and CBS’s Katie Couric. Those so-called “interviews” were nothing more than condescending, here let me thumb my nose at you. John McCain was also on the “View” which was more of the same bias. When I see Obama in a interview I find out what color socks he wears and “America wants to know” Boxers or Briefs? Where are the tough questions for him? Give us all a break.

    NEVER I repeat NEVER in my life have I been embarrassed to be an American! Even when one of the Democrats most beloved Presidents, speaking of Clinton, completely lied about eight, not one indiscretions. Apparently eight different women lied about have extra-marital sex while in the Gov. and Oval offices. Even though I find that extremely morally despicable it did nothing to turn me against America, or in the slightest embarrassed me about being American.

    Palin finally gets a chance to actually respond to some questions and did a great job at it. Americans saw Joe Biden completely lie while smiling to our faces and laughing from embarrassment about being called out by Palin several times. Let me just take on one topic he is trying to convince us of. A four billion tax cut for the Exxon’s out there. Tell the truth Joe. It is in fact a 4 billion dollar tax cut for ALL corporations in the U.S. which by the way includes Palo Alto Software, INC.

    Yes, I know Iraq was supposed to have WMD’s which the left says never were there. Iraq did NOT comply with the UN Sanctions imposed 10 years prior to the U.S. going into Iraq. What the left has buried about the WMD’s is this, and PLEASE if you can take the Obama horse blinders off for a second, do a google search for “550 Metric Tons of Yellow cake Uranium Found in Iraq”. You should be absolutely outraged this story was killed. However if they didn’t kill the story, the left would have to admit they were wrong. The left being wrong and G.W.Bush being right. Can not have that now can we?

    Now our economy is in a crumble due to bad housing deals. Doesn’t that upset you? It does me too. Do you really know how we got here? Do a little research and you will find that dear old philanderer President Clinton signed a bill lowering the credit standards needed for loans to purchase a home or start a business. Sounds all nice and fuzzy to help your fellow man or woman. Clinton then let good old buddy Barney Frank (Chairman of the Financial Services Committee) lead us to nearly financial collapse. The Americans that pay our bills on time and get by with what we have, limiting their credit because they know it is not wise, get to bail out folks that should never have qualified for a home to begin with. Once you let the genie out of the bottle everybody wants there “Fair” share. I refer to the other industries wanting a piece of MY pie.

    The sheep need to be sheared and let them listen to their own parties candidates, remember what Hillary said about John McCain and Barrack Obama? Let me refresh the memories the left tends to block when it suits their needs. Hillary: “I know I bring a lifetime of experience to the White House as does John McCain, Barrack Obama brings a speech he gave in 2002.”

    I encourage you go back and see all the negative items Joe Biden said about Obama he too believes he is useless, excuse me inexperienced, remember Gov. Sarah Palin is running for VICE-PRESIDENT and not PRESIDENT unlike the inexperienced Obama running against a completely trustworthy and experienced John McCain.

    Now finally let me add this little tid bit about Obama and McCain getting the job done in Washington. Obama in 100 bills has carried or co-sponsored bills that reached across the isle only 13% of the time. John McCain in a 120 bills has carried or co-sponsored across the isle 65% of the time. Now that is getting the job done!

    And remember you are running against McCain-Palin and NOT Bush.

    Signed,
    A Proud and NON-EMBARRASSED AMERICAN.

  2. sabyberry October 4, 2008 at 12:43 pm #

    Thanks for your comment. Obviously we don’t agree. The beauty with America though is that is what it is about. Everyone is entitled to their opinion.
    -Sabrina Parsons

Leave a Reply

