I’m not your friend – don’t be mine

15 Oct

Months ago I posted about Facebook, and why people were annoyed by those of us (yes I am one of them) who put our kids’ pictures instead of our own in our profile.  You can read my post on the topic here.  Here is what interests me and amazes me. I continue to get people who want to comment and say mean things about people who post about their kids on Facebook.  What I don’t understand is, if you don’t want to see anything about my kids on Facebook, then why are you my friend? Unfriend me. Seriously, I won’t be hurt. I have chosen to use Facebook for my personal social network. The people I have friended, or allowed to friend me, are all actual friends of mine. You can see from my Facebook profile that I don’t have a ridiculous number of friends. I tend to push people over to LinkedIn. On LinkedIn I never post about my kids or use their picture for my profile.  But why is what I do on my own personal Facebook that offensive to people? Seriously, “change the channel,” or in Facebook speak, unfriend me. I feel like it is the same as when people complain and get upset about a TV show. Don’t watch it.

So stop being annoyed with people on Facebook who do X, Y or Z. Take action. Take control. Don’t be their friend.

3 Responses to “I’m not your friend – don’t be mine”

  1. Jen October 15, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    I replied today on your original post’s page. And then I realized, ohhh….it’s Katie Roiphe who wrote the post. Got it. Well, duh, she has always been conflicted and attention-seeking. So, the woman who wrote that females have enough agency to be held accountable for their role in date rape now thinks that females have so little agency that they cannot keep their own self identities straight when posting a photo of their baby on Facebook. Haha, okay. I found a nice little piece Brett Singer wrote in response to Roiphe: http://bit.ly/LzTPj . Good to see a guy writing that way.

    • sabyberry October 15, 2010 at 9:42 am #

      Jen-
      Thanks for the comments and thanks for the link to the story on Katie Roiphe. Certainly it seems she and I have very conflicting opinions! 😉

  2. Cheryl Pope October 31, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    I agree. Sometimes as a viewer, you sit back and wonder “Why” people do certain things. At the end of the day, though, it is up to you to decide what you will and will not see, do, watch, etc. I’ve had to delete several people from being ‘friends’ because of the content they post. I am a children’s author and Facebook is used for marketing(for me). I can’t have people saying vile or suggestive things on my page. Keep up the good work and I support your convictions:)

Leave a Reply

