If only working out regularly simply took following 5 easy steps….

24 Aug

I admit it – offer me 5 easy steps to sticking to my workout schedule and I will take the bait and take the time to read your 5 (or 4 or 6 or 3) steps to being more consistent in workouts. And ususally the advice is good, albeit obvious.  Dumb Little Man has an article about sticking to your workout routine with 5 easy steps that really do make sense.  The 5 steps are:

  1. Work Out With Others
  2. Keep An Exercise Log
  3. Get Enough Sleep
  4. Eat Healthily (And Enough)
  5. Get Your Kit Ready The Night Before

Like I said – they make total sense, right? But somehow they just don’t help me.  I’ll take you through why:

  1. I would love to work out with others. But trying to juggle 2 kids under 5 and running a company, and being pregnant with baby #3, well making plans with anyone except my family is just not in the picture right now.
  2. I can keep an exercise log. This is one I can do.
  3. Get enough sleep. Hmmm. Haven’t been able to do that since I had baby #1. Where are the 5 easy steps to getting both your young kids to sleep through the night, every night. When one does – the other does not. Then when both of them actually do, I spend all night up with the yet-to-be born one kicking me all night, and hopping up and down on my bladder.  And then when the 3- and 5-year old seem like they have managed to have a good run of sleeping in their own beds, one gets sick, then the other, and we start all over again. I have realized that I can actually survive on less than 6 hours of sleep a night. It’s not good for me. I don’t like it, but I haven’t died — yet.  And with baby #3 due after Thanksgiving — the idea of getting enough sleep seems so far removed from my reality.
  4. Eat healthy and enough. OK. This one I can also do. I am a big health nut and very much believe in eating well. That said, lately we seem to be eating a lot of take-out food. I just can’t seem to get to the market regularly and every night it’s the same panic to figure out what we are going to eat. So I guess eating healthy is not as easy as I would like it to be.
  5. Get your kit ready the night before. Sure I can do that. But then if the kids don’t wake up on time, or I had a particularly bad night with any of the kids, or couldn’t sleep because of the little soon-to-be-born baby…having my workout clothes ready just doesn’t really matter.

Why can’t someone just give me the secret to adding 2 extra hours to every day? That would be all I need. Give me 26 hours in a day (but make sure the kids sleep through these hours) and I am golden. I can actually stick to the 5 easy steps and make sure I do my workout. But without these 2 extra hours, I just read these tips and it makes me sigh, and realize, those are not for me. One day. But not today.

5 Responses to “If only working out regularly simply took following 5 easy steps….”

  1. Jay August 27, 2009 at 7:19 am #

    Tip 6 — Break your workout up into 10 min pieces you can fit in throughout the day. It’s not quite the same as keeping your heart rate up for 30 minutes of cardio, but you’ll feel better knowing you’re doing something.

  2. floraljoy August 27, 2009 at 12:48 pm #

    I agree with Jay. The problem is these exercise plans are made for only some people. You should find what suits you best. I’d bet those people who say it’s easy never tried raising several kids at once.

  3. Craig October 6, 2009 at 7:14 pm #

    While researching your company over the weekend for an interview I had today, I was able to read through some of your postings. I appreciate your commitment to finding the right life/work balance that works for you. In this posting you mentioned the challenge to being able to avoid the “take-out” dinner and find time to always have fresh food to prepare for healthy meals. My wife and I struggled with this also and have found a very good solution that we have used for a few years now. We go to a place called “Dinners Done Right” and pre-make/assemble 12 dinners to have for the next month. All the prep work is done for you and you can do it in less than 2 hours. All you have to do is cook it when you’re ready. If you want to check them out say Craig and Sallie referred you and you’ll get a free dinner.

  4. autumn October 12, 2009 at 6:02 pm #

    I found it so amusing to hear from another professional mom in Eugene, who clearly has all the same motivation and dedication as myself, that still can’t manage to get on board the workout wagon. I mean really… why is two extra hours so much to ask? With that much time I could practically squeeze in a moment to eat and pee lol.

  5. Plaurbloumb November 24, 2009 at 2:23 pm #

    I highly enjoyed reading this post, keep on making such interesting articles!

Leave a Reply

