Mommy I am NOT going to college!!!

12 Aug

What? Did those words come out of my 5-year-old’s mouth? Why would he say that? What had he heard to possibly make him say that? Am I already failing to inspire him to want to learn and grow, and be the best? Where have I gone wrong? I haven’t really mentioned college….am I already somehow pushing him too hard?

ME: Why would you say that? Of course you are going to college! Mommy went to college, Daddy went to college, and you and your brothers are going to college.

T: NO! I am NOT going.

ME: But college is fun. Why?

T: I know Megan has to be away from Nana and Grandad, and I don’t ever want to be away from you.  I don’t want to go by myself and sleep all by myself. I have to sleep here in our house. With you and Daddy.

Sigh. Relief. This all makes sense. Megan is my much younger sister who has been attending Stanford University for the last 4 years. She graduated this past June.  My son really only knows Megan in the context that he loves her, but she is always “gone at college.” Now I just want to take what he has said, and record it into history. So when he is that ornery 17 year old that wants nothing to do with me, and can’t wait to get out to college, I can remind him that when he was 5 he said he didn’t want to go, because he wouldn’t be able to be with me. A moment that I thought was going to show me what a terrible parent I already was, turned into a wonderful mommy/son moment for me. Moments like this make EVERYTHING worthwhile.

3 Responses to “Mommy I am NOT going to college!!!”

  1. Natalie MacNeil August 13, 2009 at 11:31 am #

    That’s such a cute story. When I was younger I said something to my mom about not wanting to have a job because my dad traveled a lot for work and I didn’t want to be away from home like he always was. Now I love working and have traveled to over 50 countries haha 🙂

    It’s so interesting how children process information.

  2. Linda Smith August 13, 2009 at 6:43 pm #

    I love this post…my younger daughter told me when she was 4 years old that she was very smart but that she just didn’t like school. Then when she was in elementary school she told me not to expect her to go to college because she wanted to be an actress…and she didn’t. She is now 29 years old and one of the best read young women I know…my older daughter graduated from Chico State [CA] but I can say that the younger is self-educated and could have a degree in political science. I hadn’t thought about her educational progression in quite a while.

  3. Drew September 15, 2009 at 6:45 pm #

    I have a signed note from my very young daughter Alex that she would take me to college with her- the only way she committed to going at the time. She is away at school now and I remind her about it from time to time.

Leave a Reply

