“Except you Mommy — you are cool”

24 Mar

Every once in awhile one of my children says something I want to record and keep forever in my memory. The other day my almost 5-year old was telling me all about how he didn’t like girls, didn’t want to play with girls, and didn’t like anything girls did. I am the only female in our household – even our dog is male.  I looked at him and said that I was a girl; didn’t he like me? And he said:

I don’t like any girls except you Mommy. You are a cool girl.

So now I have recorded this quote forever in cyberspace. I plan to refer to it often once my almost 5-year old is a teenager – anytime he doesn’t want me around, or doesn’t want to talk to me. I plan on reminding him that yes, there was a day when he thought I was cool. Sigh. I know it won’t last but I still hope and pray that it will!

3 Responses to ““Except you Mommy — you are cool””

  1. baby carriers backpacks April 3, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

    Aww thats just sweet.. I remember my 5 year old kid said to me – “You are my only girlfriend Mommy” LOL and today, he’s just 6 and he already forgot about it.. He says, he already has a girlfriend at school! Haha! I do not exactly know where he is getting those words..

    Kim

  2. baby nursery decoration June 5, 2009 at 9:09 am #

    That is so cute! My daughter is only 18 months, but I already think alot about how she will feel about me when she is a teenager.

  3. suits for toddlers June 10, 2009 at 1:44 am #

    I’ve been reading along for a while now.
    I just wanted to drop you a comment to say keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

