How do I price my services?

17 Jul

Tomorrow I am part of a 3 person panel at BlogHer, talking about how bloggers can make sure they have legal, tax, and planning issues taken care of. Specifically, I have been asked to address a common problem many women who are part of the BlogHer network have:

How do I price my services?

Interestingly enough, pricing is a difficult question in any business – no matter how big or small. Pricing a product or service incorrectly can be one of the biggest reasons a business fails (there are others, like not managing your cash flow for instance). So how do you tackle this issue? How do you find the ideal price for what you are selling? Unfortunately there is no right answer. But there are some general guidelines to follow to try and figure it out:

1. Do your research

2. Don’t price too low

3. Try something out, make adjustments

4. Don’t put all your eggs in one basket

5. Figure out your business goals

Tomorrow I will post specific information and links to articles and tools that will go into more detail on the 5 items I have listed above. I will, of course, be addressing all these items at my talk tomorrow. If you are at BlogHer I hope to see you there!


Leave a Reply

